Board Of Directors

We are grateful to have a multispecialty inspiring leadership team dedicated to fast-tracking diagnostics, therapeutics, technologies, and policies.

Board Of Directors

Babak Kateb

Chairman and CEO of SBMT 1st President SBMT, WBMF Pioneer in Medicine Award, 2015 | NanoneuroSurgery and NeuroPhotonics Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024, BCI, Neurotechnology, Neuroengineering Subcommitee 2023-2024, Military Medicine Subcommittee 2023 - 2024 | Neuroscience20 Global Chairman
Founding Chairman of the Board of SBMT and President of World Brain Mapping Foundation, Scientific Director of SBMT and Brain Mapping Foundation, Director of National Center for Nano-Bio-Electronics, Director of Brain Technology and Innovation Park (BTIP), and Chairman of science advisory board of Infinity Arc (cancer/radiosurgery tech).

Lei Li

Dr. Lei Li is an incoming Assistant Professor of Electrical Computer Engineering at Rice University.

Qifa Zhou

Epilepsy, EEG, MEG and NeuroRadiology Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology in the USC Keck School of Medicine as well as the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Southern California.

David Baron

DO, MSEd | Neuropsychiatry and Innovation Subcommittee
Senior Vice President and Provost of the Western University of Health Sciences and serves as Chief Academic Officer of the university. He is responsible for academic, accreditation, and budgetary affairs.

Giuseppe Umana

Chair of Cerebrovascular advances Subcommittee 2023-2024 | 2023 Award Recipient
Highly rated in 15 conditions, according to our data. His top areas of expertise are Meningioma, Epidural Hematoma, Subdural Hematoma, Laminectomy, and Gamma Knife Radiosurgery.

Lawrence Steinman

2023 WBMF Pioneer in Medicine Award Recipient
Dr. Lawrence Steinman is a professor of Neurology and Neurological Sciences, Pediatrics, and Genetics.  He also served as the Chair of the Stanford University Interdepartmental Program in Immunology from 2003-2011.

Margaret Fahnestock

Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Subcommittee SBMT 2023- 2024
Margaret Fahnestock is a molecular neurobiologist at McMaster University. She is a professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences, as well as an Associate Member of the Department of Biology and a member of the Medical Sciences graduate program. Margaret has been working with McMaster since 1991, when she joined the Department of Biomedical Sciences.

Thomas Williams

BCI, Neurotechnology, Neuroengineering Subcommitee 2023-2024
Element Scientist for HFBP. Affiliated with NASA Johnson Space Center (JSC) since 2015, Tom directs a multi-disciplined team of scientists focused on human factors in the areas of habitability, mission processes and tasks, human automation robotic interactions, dynamic loads, and training; as well as spaceflight risks related to behavioral medicine, sleep and fatigue, and team performance.

Kenneth P. Green

Military Medicine and Veteran's Health Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
Kenneth P. Green, D.M.D., B.S.

Harry Kloor

2019 Golden Axon Award Recipient
Dr. Harry Kloor is a successful serial entrepreneur, scientist, technologist, educator, policy advisor, author, and Hollywood filmmaker. He is the CEO and Co-Founder of Beyond Imagination; a company that has developed a suite of exponential technology solutions that deploys AI, AR, Robotics, Machine Learning and human-computer interaction technology to enhance and revolutionize the world’s workforce.

Jonathan Sackier

Dr. Sackier is a medical robotics maverick who played a key role in developing AESOP (Automated Endoscopic System for Optimal Positioning), which received FDA clearance in 1994 and became the first robot to assist in minimally invasive surgery.
2 / 6123456