World Brain Mapping Foundation

World Brain Mapping Foundation

Advancing Trailblazing Approaches to Cure Neurological Disorders

Previous Honorees

We are grateful to have leadership team filled with inspiring and dedicated members with a broad range of experience.

Gathering For Cure Awards

The Beacon Award is presented to individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary courage and dedication for increasing awareness about neurological diseases, and for patients and their families who have exceeded expectations in fighting a neurological disorder with unprecedented courage. The Beacon Award identifies remarkable individuals who set the highest standards for increasing awareness of, and fighting, neurological diseases.

The Humanitarian Award is given to physicians and scientists who have contributed significantly to survival and quality of life of patients across the Globe.

The Pioneer in Technology Award is presented to the trail blazing companies and their CEOs/presidents who have facilitated the development of pioneering technologies through interdisciplinary approaches that have impacted diagnostics, treatment, and healthcare delivery in unprecedented ways.

The Pioneer in Medicine Award is presented to individuals who have significantly contributed to the scientific advancement in the fields of medicine and image guided therapy through a multidisciplinary approach. Their groundbreaking contributions have made development of state-of-the-art technology and scientific discovery a reality.

The Pioneer in Healthcare Policy Award is presented to lawmakers who have demonstrated visionary and crossdisciplinary approaches to introducing laws that have contributed to the advancement of science, technology, education, and medicine. They have paved the way to better integration of such advancements in other fields, like medicine and neuroscience. These lawmakers champion better healthcare for all.

The Golden Axon Leadership Award is presented to individuals outside of the medical community who inspire with good will and an enthusiastic interest in science, technology and medicine. Named for the neuron cell fiber that carries outgoing messages to other target cells, the founding principle of the Axon Award is to recognize a highly regarded individual in the public sector who helps raise awareness and funding of WBMF and its mission in the community via fundraising event(s) and activities.

The WBMF Young Investigator’s Initiative is designed to recognize promising young scientists performing work in the brain sciences relevant to the World Brain Mapping Foundation. While this year’s awardees will not be receiving any financial incentives, this recognition will be a stepping stone for future recognition within and beyond the WBMF’s wide ranging collaborative partners.

The WBMF Student Service and Leadership Award is given to recognize excellence and commitment to dedicated fellows, interns, and students who have contributed to the advancement of medicine, specifically the neurosciences.

Late Robin Sidhu (1988 – 2015), a young ebullient science driven and information technology (IT) savvy person, died of an accident at an early age. His mission to accomplish in-depth understanding of human mind and health remained incomplete due to his early departure but his legacy will remain through supporting young innovative minds in science through this award.

Beacon of Courage and Dedication Award

5 / 512345

Bob Woodruff

2009 Award Recipient
ABC News Anchorman and Founder of Remind Foundation, USA

Dustin Hoffman

2008 Award Recipient
Two time academy award winner – Rain Man and Autism

Behnam Badie

2007 Award Recipient
City of Hope Vice Chair and Professor, Department of Surgery Chief, Division of Neurosurgery Director, Brain Tumor Program, Neurosurgeon

Deepak Chopra

2019 Award Recipient
Founding Chairman and President of Chopra Foundation and Chopra Institute
5 / 512345

Humanitarian Award

5 / 512345

Henry Marsh

St.George's Hospital, London, UK, 2011 Award Recipient

Rocco Armonda

2011 Award Recipient
Neurosurgery Consortium at National Naval MEDCEN and Walter Reed Army MEDCEN

Kateryna Potapova

2023 Award Recipient Clinical Research Associate | Research Fellow (2021-2023)
5 / 512345

Pioneer in Technology Development Award

5 / 512345

Mark L. Vachon

GE Healthcare, 2008 Award Recipient

Steve Rusckowski

Philips Healthcare, 2007 Award Recipient

Carl O’Connell

CEO of Carl Zeiss Inc., 2006 Award Recipient
5 / 512345

Pioneer in Medicine Award

Maya Koronyo-Hamaoui

2013 Award Recipient
Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Robert H. Kraus, Jr.

2013 Award Recipient
Chief Scientist, Director of Operations, Samitaur Medical Technologies

Margie L. Homer

2013 Award Recipient
Senior Engineer at NASA/JPL

Shouleh Nikzad

2013 Award Recipient
Senior Research Scientist, NASA/JPL

Pioneer in Healthcare Policy Award

5 / 512345

Nancy Pelosi

2007 Award Recipient
Former Speaker and Current Minority Leader of the House of Representatives

Edward Kennedy

Former United States Senator, 2007 Award Recipient

Barbara Boxer

Former United States Senator, 2005 Award Recipient
5 / 512345

Golden Axon leadership Award

Reinhard Schulte

Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Loma Linda University School of Medicine, CA, USA, WBMF Golden Axon Award Recipeint 2021 | NeuroOncology Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
Dr. Reinhard Schulte has more than 18 years of experience in proton radiation therapy and proton radiosurgery.

Kasif Nevzat Tarhan

WBMF Golden Axon Award, 2019 | Professor of Psychiatry, President/Rector, Üskudar University, Istanbul, Turkey
Nevzat Tarhan was born in Merzifon/Turkey in 1952. He finished Kuleli Military High School in 1969 and graduated from Cerrahpaşa Medical School Ístanbul University in 1975.

Mike Y. Chen

9th President of SBMT, WBMF Golden Axon Award, 2012
Vice President of World Brain Mapping Foundation, Vice President of Government and Strategic Alliance WBMF and SBMT, CA, USA

Michael J. Roy

7th & 10th President of SBMT, WBMF Golden Axon Award, 2017 | Military Medicine and Veteran's Health Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
(Ret.) Colonel, Medical Corps, U.S. Army Director and Professor, Division of Military Internal Medicine University of the Health Sciences, MD, USA

Young Investigator Award

No results found.

Student Service and Leadership Award

5 / 6123456

Ali Marjaninejad

Provost Fellow and Research Enhancement Fellow, 2019 Award Recipient | Research Fellow 2017-2018

Matthew Zusman

2019 Award Recipient | Research Fellow 2017-2018

Joseph Yetto

USUHS, 2010 Award Recipient | Research Fellow 2017-2018

Josh Neman-Ebrahim

UCLA Student Chapter, 2009 Award Recipient | Research Fellow 2017-2018
5 / 6123456

Robin Sidhu Memorial Young Scientist Award

No results found.