World Brain Mapping Foundation

World Brain Mapping Foundation

Advancing Trailblazing Approaches to Cure Neurological Disorders

Close this search box.

Previous Honorees

We are grateful to have leadership team filled with inspiring and dedicated members with a broad range of experience.

Gathering For Cure Awards

The Beacon Award is presented to individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary courage and dedication for increasing awareness about neurological diseases, and for patients and their families who have exceeded expectations in fighting a neurological disorder with unprecedented courage. The Beacon Award identifies remarkable individuals who set the highest standards for increasing awareness of, and fighting, neurological diseases.

The Humanitarian Award is given to physicians and scientists who have contributed significantly to survival and quality of life of patients across the Globe.

The Pioneer in Technology Award is presented to the trail blazing companies and their CEOs/presidents who have facilitated the development of pioneering technologies through interdisciplinary approaches that have impacted diagnostics, treatment, and healthcare delivery in unprecedented ways.

The Pioneer in Medicine Award is presented to individuals who have significantly contributed to the scientific advancement in the fields of medicine and image guided therapy through a multidisciplinary approach. Their groundbreaking contributions have made development of state-of-the-art technology and scientific discovery a reality.

The Pioneer in Healthcare Policy Award is presented to lawmakers who have demonstrated visionary and crossdisciplinary approaches to introducing laws that have contributed to the advancement of science, technology, education, and medicine. They have paved the way to better integration of such advancements in other fields, like medicine and neuroscience. These lawmakers champion better healthcare for all.

The Golden Axon Leadership Award is presented to individuals outside of the medical community who inspire with good will and an enthusiastic interest in science, technology and medicine. Named for the neuron cell fiber that carries outgoing messages to other target cells, the founding principle of the Axon Award is to recognize a highly regarded individual in the public sector who helps raise awareness and funding of WBMF and its mission in the community via fundraising event(s) and activities.

The WBMF Young Investigator’s Initiative is designed to recognize promising young scientists performing work in the brain sciences relevant to the World Brain Mapping Foundation. While this year’s awardees will not be receiving any financial incentives, this recognition will be a stepping stone for future recognition within and beyond the WBMF’s wide ranging collaborative partners.

The WBMF Student Service and Leadership Award is given to recognize excellence and commitment to dedicated fellows, interns, and students who have contributed to the advancement of medicine, specifically the neurosciences.

Late Robin Sidhu (1988 – 2015), a young ebullient science driven and information technology (IT) savvy person, died of an accident at an early age. His mission to accomplish in-depth understanding of human mind and health remained incomplete due to his early departure but his legacy will remain through supporting young innovative minds in science through this award.

Beacon of Courage and Dedication Award

4 / 512345

Minoru Freund

Director of Research NASA Ames, 2012 Award Recipient

Gabrielle Giffords

2011 Award Recipient
Former House Representative from Arizona’s 8th district, See Video

L. Tammy Duckworth

2010 Award Recipient
Assistant Secretary for Public and Intergovernmental Affairs

Colin R. Rich

Sergeant Major (retired), 2009 Award Recipient
4 / 512345

Humanitarian Award

4 / 512345

Bill Wood

2015 Award Recipient

Charlie Teo

2014 Award Recipient
FRACS Neurosurgeon, Director, The Centre for Minimally Invasive Neurosurgery

Ming Hsieh

Founder of Cogent Inc., 2013 Award Recipient

Geoffrey Ling

2012 Award Recipient
Program Manager, DSO, DARPA, Arlington, VA Colonel, Medical Corps, U.S. Army, Chair of Department of Neurology, USUHS, Baltimore, MD
4 / 512345

Pioneer in Technology Development Award

4 / 512345

Eric M. Bailey

President, CEO, Founder, Neurologica, 2013 Award Recipient

Reese S. Terry Jr.

Co-founder and former CEO of Cyberonics, 2013 Award Recipient

Kevin Lobo

Group President, Orthopaedics - Stryker Corporation, 2012 Award Recipient

William A. Hawkins

Chairman and CEO of Medtronic, 2009 Award Recipient
4 / 512345

Pioneer in Medicine Award

Bennet Omalu

2016 Award Recipient
Chief Medical Examiner of San Joaquin County, California; Professor in the UC Davis Department of Medical Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Aaron G. Filler

13th President of SBMT (2015-2016), WBMF Pioneer in Medicine, 2016
Medical Director, Institute for Nerve Medicine & Neurography, Professor of Neurosurgery Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, EVP & Chair of Legal-Counsel & Ethics Committee of SBMT, CA USA

Skip Rizzo

2015 Award Recipient
Director for Medical Virtual Reality Institute for Creative Technologies

Pantaleo Romanelli

2015 Award Recipient
Neurological Surgery, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF)

Pioneer in Healthcare Policy Award

4 / 512345

Gabrielle Giffords

2011 Award Recipient
Democratic member of the United States House of Representatives. She is the third woman in Arizona’s history to be elected to the U.S. Congress.

Harry Reid

Former United States Senator, 2010 Award Recipient

John Kerry

Former United States Senator, 2009 Award Recipient

Arnold Schwarzenegger

Former Governor of California, 2008 Award Recipient
4 / 512345

Golden Axon leadership Award

Peter Gailey

(President/Co-founder) ORLive, 2010 Award Recipient

Eric Kandel

Member of the USA, German and France National Academies of Science, Kavil Professor and Director of Kavli Institute for Brain Sciences and Senior Investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Columbia University, NY, USA

Kenneth P. Green

Military Medicine and Veteran's Health Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
Kenneth P. Green, D.M.D., B.S.

Harry Kloor

2019 Golden Axon Award Recipient
Dr. Harry Kloor is a successful serial entrepreneur, scientist, technologist, educator, policy advisor, author, and Hollywood filmmaker. He is the CEO and Co-Founder of Beyond Imagination; a company that has developed a suite of exponential technology solutions that deploys AI, AR, Robotics, Machine Learning and human-computer interaction technology to enhance and revolutionize the world’s workforce.

Young Investigator Award

No results found.

Student Service and Leadership Award

4 / 6123456

Susanne E. Strand

Clinical Research Associate, 2021 Award Recipient

Nafisah Khan

PhD| 2018-2019 SBMT Research Fellow, 2020 Award Recipient

Shahram Hadidchi

MD| 2018-2019 SBMT Research Fellow, 2020 Award Recipient

Ashkan Javadzadeh

MD, MBA| 2019 Award Recipient | Research Fellow 2018-2019
4 / 6123456

Robin Sidhu Memorial Young Scientist Award

No results found.