Close this search box.

Executive Board

Executive Board of SBMT. Active members of the SBMT Board of Directors, who channel resources in the form of grants, charity donations, and fund programs, as well as participating in the decisions shaping the current presidency’s events and decisions and have participated in the SBMT leadership in the past.

Roger W. Werne

BCI, Neurotechnology, Neuroengineering Subcommitee 2023-2024
Associate Director for Engineering and Technology Transfer at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, CA, USA

Robert W. Thatcher

2020 Award Recipient
Founder and CEO of Applied Neuroscience, Inc.,Director of Applied Neuroscience Research Institute, St. Petersburg, FL, USA

George Perry, PhD

2024 GFC Gold Axon Leadership Award WBMF
Professor of biology and chemistry at the University of Texas at San Antonio and the former dean of the College of Sciences. Editor-in-Chief of the Journal in Alzheimer’s Disease Co-Chair of SBMT Alzheimer’s Subcommittee.

Abilash Haridas

Chair of Cerebrovascular advances Subcommittee 2023-2024
Pediatric Neurosurgeon, St. Joseph Children’s Hospital Tampa, FL, USA

Denise B. Kandel

Denise Kandel, PhD., Head of the Department of Epidemiology of Substance Abuse at the New York State Psychiatric Institute, Professor of Sociomedical Sciences and Psychiatry at Columbia University. Major interests: the epidemiology, risk factors, and consequences of drug use, in particular smoking and prescription opioid use; the epidemiology of substance dependence; developmental pathways of problem behaviors in adolescence; the intergenerational transmission of deviance; animal models of epidemiological paradigms.

Reinhard Schulte

Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Loma Linda University School of Medicine, CA, USA, WBMF Golden Axon Award Recipeint 2021 | NeuroOncology Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
Dr. Reinhard Schulte has more than 18 years of experience in proton radiation therapy and proton radiosurgery.

Namath Hussain

Associate Professor of Neurosurgery, Loma Linda University, CA, USA
Dr. Namath S. Hussain, MD, MBA is a board certified neurosurgeon who treats all surgical diseases of the brain and spine. However, he has a specific interest in both minimally invasive spinal techniques for adult degenerative spinal disease, spinal tumors, trauma, spinal column deformity, and disorders affecting the craniovertebral junction. Dr. Hussain obtained his undergraduate degree in biomedical engineering graduating with distinction from the University of Southern California.

Kasif Nevzat Tarhan

WBMF Golden Axon Award, 2019 | Professor of Psychiatry, President/Rector, Üskudar University, Istanbul, Turkey
Nevzat Tarhan was born in Merzifon/Turkey in 1952. He finished Kuleli Military High School in 1969 and graduated from Cerrahpaşa Medical School Ístanbul University in 1975.

Farzad Massoudi

4th President of SBMT
Medical Director of Neuroscience and Spine Institute, Mission Hospital, Orange County, CA, USA

Mike Y. Chen

9th President of SBMT, WBMF Golden Axon Award, 2012
Vice President of World Brain Mapping Foundation, Vice President of Government and Strategic Alliance WBMF and SBMT, CA, USA
2 / 3123