Executive Board

Executive Board of SBMT. Active members of the SBMT Board of Directors, who channel resources in the form of grants, charity donations, and fund programs, as well as participating in the decisions shaping the current presidency’s events and decisions and have participated in the SBMT leadership in the past.

Robert Hariri

2020 Award Recipient
Dr. Robert Hariri, The Chairman, Founder, Chief Scientific Officer, and former Chief Executive Officer of Celgene Cellular Therapeutics.

Robert W. Thatcher

2020 Award Recipient
Dr. Robert Thatcher, President & CEO of Applied Neuroscience, Inc.

Aaron G. Filler

13th President of SBMT (2015-2016), WBMF Pioneer in Medicine, 2016
Medical Director, Institute for Nerve Medicine & Neurography, Professor of Neurosurgery Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, EVP & Chair of Legal-Counsel & Ethics Committee of SBMT, CA USA

Amin Kassam

Chair of Cerebrovascular advances Subcommittee 2023-2024 | WBMF Pioneer in Technology Development Award Recipient, 2022
Over the past two decades, Dr. Kassam has been the Chairman or led four Neurosurgery programs; pioneered and globally taught novel surgical procedures; founded or held leadership roles in several technology start-up companies; and, has held executive health care administration leadership roles needed to translate these innovations through Integrated Service Line delivery models. He is the Founder and CEO of Neeka Enterprises and recently served as the Chief Scientific Strategist, VP Neurosciences, and Chairman of Neurological Surgery for AdvocateAurora Health Care. 

Keerthy Sunder

WBMF Golden Axon Leadership Award, 2023
CEO, Karma Doctors & Karma TMS, Inc Founder, The Sunder Foundation, Assistant Clinical Professor, University of California Riverside, CA, USA

Christopher Wheeler

WBMF Golden Axon Award, 2023 | Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Subcommittee SBMT 2023- 2024
President at StemVax, Chief Scientific Officer at T-Neuro Pharma, Inc. Professor and research scientist at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Babak Kateb

Chairman and CEO of SBMT 1st President SBMT, WBMF Pioneer in Medicine Award, 2015 | NanoneuroSurgery and NeuroPhotonics Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024, BCI, Neurotechnology, Neuroengineering Subcommitee 2023-2024, Military Medicine Subcommittee 2023 - 2024 | Neuroscience20 Global Chairman
Founding Chairman of the Board of SBMT and President of World Brain Mapping Foundation, Scientific Director of SBMT and Brain Mapping Foundation, Director of National Center for Nano-Bio-Electronics, Director of Brain Technology and Innovation Park (BTIP), and Chairman of science advisory board of Infinity Arc (cancer/radiosurgery tech).

Eric Kandel

Member of the USA, German and France National Academies of Science, Kavil Professor and Director of Kavli Institute for Brain Sciences and Senior Investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Columbia University, NY, USA

Lei Li

Dr. Lei Li is an incoming Assistant Professor of Electrical Computer Engineering at Rice University.

Qifa Zhou

Epilepsy, EEG, MEG and NeuroRadiology Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology in the USC Keck School of Medicine as well as the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Southern California.
1 / 3123