Close this search box.

Advisory Board

Advisory Board of SBMT. Past Executive Board of Directors members and advisors to the Executive Board, President, and CEO.

Navid Sadoughi

SBMT Neurosurgery & Spinal Pain Management Subcommittee

Melissa King

SBMT Regenerative Medicine Subcommittee Chair
Melissa King is a passionate advocate for patients of chronic illness and disease as well as the medical research that can help reduce their suffering. An expert at engaging multiple stakeholders and communicating effectively with varied audiences, she has been a champion for the California stem cell research program since before it formally existed.

Giulio Maria Passineti

SBMT Alzheimer's Subcommittee Chair
Dr. Giulio Maria Pasinetti, The Saunders Family Chair and Professor of Neurology, received an M.D. from the Milan University School of Medicine and a Ph.D. from the University of Milan. He is currently the Program Director of the NIH funded Mount Sinai Center for Molecular Integrative Neuroresilience and the Chief of the Brain Institute Center of Excellence for Novel Approaches to Neurodiagnostics and Neurotherapeutics.

Joe F. Bolanos

M.D.| Research Fellow, Research Scientist, Chief Operating Officer, Advisory Board Member | 2021 Student Service and Leadership Award Recipient | Neuroscience20 Global Leadership Award | 2024 Golden Axon Leadership Award
Dr. Joe F. Bolanos, MD, embodies a compelling fusion of medical expertise and technological acumen. With an unwavering interest in harnessing innovation to improve healthcare efficiency, and a commitment to improving patient access to novel diagnostics and therapies.

Lei Li

Dr. Lei Li is an incoming Assistant Professor of Electrical Computer Engineering at Rice University.

Qifa Zhou

Epilepsy, EEG, MEG and NeuroRadiology Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology in the USC Keck School of Medicine as well as the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Southern California.

Margaret Fahnestock

Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Subcommittee SBMT 2023- 2024
Margaret Fahnestock is a molecular neurobiologist at McMaster University. She is a professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences, as well as an Associate Member of the Department of Biology and a member of the Medical Sciences graduate program. Margaret has been working with McMaster since 1991, when she joined the Department of Biomedical Sciences.

Thomas Williams

BCI, Neurotechnology, Neuroengineering Subcommitee 2023-2024
Element Scientist for HFBP. Affiliated with NASA Johnson Space Center (JSC) since 2015, Tom directs a multi-disciplined team of scientists focused on human factors in the areas of habitability, mission processes and tasks, human automation robotic interactions, dynamic loads, and training; as well as spaceflight risks related to behavioral medicine, sleep and fatigue, and team performance.

Jonathan Sackier

Dr. Sackier is a medical robotics maverick who played a key role in developing AESOP (Automated Endoscopic System for Optimal Positioning), which received FDA clearance in 1994 and became the first robot to assist in minimally invasive surgery.

Vasileios K. Katsaros

Epilepsy, EEG, MEG, and NeuroRadiology Subcommittee SBMT 2023- 2024
Neuroradiologist, Athens, Greece Director of the Department of Advanced Imaging Modalities General Anti-Cancer and Oncological Hospital of Athens
1 / 212