Pioneer in Medicine Award

Peter Gruen

2004 Award Recipient
LA County & University Southern California

Babak Kateb

Chairman and CEO of SBMT 1st President SBMT, WBMF Pioneer in Medicine Award, 2015 | NanoneuroSurgery and NeuroPhotonics Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024, BCI, Neurotechnology, Neuroengineering Subcommitee 2023-2024, Military Medicine Subcommittee 2023 - 2024 | Neuroscience20 Global Chairman
Founding Chairman of the Board of SBMT and President of World Brain Mapping Foundation, Scientific Director of SBMT and Brain Mapping Foundation, Director of National Center for Nano-Bio-Electronics, Director of Brain Technology and Innovation Park (BTIP), and Chairman of science advisory board of Infinity Arc (cancer/radiosurgery tech).

Lawrence Steinman

2023 WBMF Pioneer in Medicine Award Recipient
Dr. Lawrence Steinman is a professor of Neurology and Neurological Sciences, Pediatrics, and Genetics.  He also served as the Chair of the Stanford University Interdepartmental Program in Immunology from 2003-2011.

Robert W. Thatcher

2020 Award Recipient
Founder and CEO of Applied Neuroscience, Inc.,Director of Applied Neuroscience Research Institute, St. Petersburg, FL, USA

Ferenc A. Jolesz

2nd President of SBMT, Award Recipeint 2005
Jolesz became director of the Division of Magnetic Resonance Imaging at The Brigham and Women’s Hospital in 1988, and in 1989, associate professor of radiology at Harvard Medical School. In 1993, he established the Image-Guided Therapy Program at The Brigham and Women’s Hospital to advance the use of imaging for enhancing minimally invasive surgical procedures and other means of therapy delivery.

Kuldip Sidhu

11th President of SBMT, WBMF Pioneer in Medicine, 2014
Professor of Stem Cell Research, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia

Aaron G. Filler

13th President of SBMT (2015-2016), WBMF Pioneer in Medicine, 2016
Medical Director, Institute for Nerve Medicine & Neurography, Professor of Neurosurgery Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, EVP & Chair of Legal-Counsel & Ethics Committee of SBMT, CA USA

Robert Hariri

18th President of SBMT (2020-2021), WBMF Pioneer in Medicine Award, 2020 | WBMF Golden Axon Award, 2021
Dr. Hariri pioneered the use of stem cells to treat a range of life-threatening human diseases and continues today to make transformative contributions in the fields of immuno-oncology and cell therapeutics along with tissue engineering and functional regeneration. He is widely acknowledged for his discovery of pluripotent stem cells derived from the human placenta, and as a member of the team that discovered the physiological activities of tumor necrosis factor (TNF).
Deborah Zelinsky, OD

Meet the SBMT President

Deborah Zelinsky
Society for Brain Mapping and Therapeutics elects Deborah Zelinsky, to serve as president for the 2023-2024 cycle.
5 / 512345