Scientific Committee

Over 20 Subcommittees powering the therapeutics and tech innovation research and initiatives.

Scientific Committee

The Alzheimer’s Disease and Dementia SBMT Subcommittee, focuses on research on novel early diagnostics, therapeutics and management of Alzheimer’s disease and neurodegenerative diseases and dementia.

The Autism and Pediatric Neuroscience SBMT Subcommittee focuses on research on autism spectrum disorder and pediatrics neurological diseases, their implications diagnostics and therapeutics.

The Cerebrovascular and Skull base Surgery SBMT Subcommittee encompasses the divisions of neurosurgery, interventional neuroradiology, and AI endovascular surgery, all of which focus on a multidisciplinary approach to the treatment and care of various neurovascular diseases.

The Epilepsy, EEG, MEG, and NeuroRadiology SBMT Subcommittee, focuses on the functional aspects of neuro-imaging and associated research. MRI, MEG, PET, nuclear medicine, MRSI, MR-PET, DTI, CT-PET, focused ultrasound, MSI/MEG, ultra-high and low field MRI and interventional radiology, neurooncology, SRS, Gamma-Knife, Cyberknife, ZAP.

The Military Medicine and Veterans Health focuses on research regarding health for wounded soldiers and improvement of quality of life. PTSD, Traumatic Brain Injury, Mental Health, Neurotechnology, prosthetics, and Neurotrauma.

The NanoneuroSurgery and NeuroPhotonics SBMT Subcommittee focuses on research on the newest advances on nanotechnology for the purpose of neurosurgery and neurology. This subcommittee also explores the novel phtotonic applications in neurology and neurosciences in general.

The Neurooncology and Stem Cell SBMT Subcommittee, focuses on research on Brain cancer such as Glioblastoma, Astrocytoma and Meningiomas, their early molecular diagnosis, different therapeutic modalities (chemotherapy, radiation oncology, biologics, immunotherapy)

The Neuropsychiatric and Innovation SBMT Subcommittee, focuses on research on addiction, anxiety disorder, autism, sleep, medical imaging for psychiatric conditions, schizophrenia, depression, PTSD.

The Neuroscience20 SBMT Initiative subcommittee focuses on the global economical burden of neurological diseases and formulates resolutions given to the G20 leaders. It also leads an annual summit that is a think tank that serves this purpose, engaging in business plan workshops, health care policy issues that affect treatment delivery, usage of certain devices/drugs/imaging technologies, FDA regulations and reimbursements, federal and regional regulation impacting health care delivery and research funding, initiative and congressional legislation.

The Neurotechnology, Brain Computer Interface and Neuroengineering SBMT Subcommittee is for those who want to see the future, today. It dwells on the latests technological advances applied to neurosciences in general. AI Machine Learning.

The Psychedelics SBMT Subcommittee, focuses on research on the use of psychedelics for diverse neuropsychiatric illnesses.

The Spine Surgery SBMT subcommittee focuses on State-of-the-art diagnostic, surgical tools, and therapeutics. Some topics that we research are:
• Degenerative spine disease
• Spinal deformity (kyphosis/scoliosis)
• Spinal tumors (primary and metastatic bone tumors as well as intradural tumors)
• Spinal trauma
• Osteoporotic and geriatric spinal pathology
• Revision spinal surgery to treat failed fusions or adjacent level pathology
• Intraoperative CT scan and navigation systems
• State-of-the-art neuromonitoring
• CyberKnife radiosurgery
We specialize in traditional open and newer minimally invasive spinal techniques to treat the above pathologies.

The Visual Processing and Retinal Neuromodulation SBMT Subcommittee focuses on research on retinal processing and its impact on modulation
of autonomic, endocrine and limbic functions, visual influence on movement and behavior (including mental health diagnoses), effect of delayed visual development in autism and other developmental disabilities, visual circuitry disruptions from autonomic dysregulation, concussions and other brain injuries, advancements in optical assessments, sensory integration, virtual augmented/mixed reality.

Gilberto Eduardo Sanchez

MD | Research Fellow (2020-2021)
MD | Research Fellow (2020-2021)

Maria Auxiliadora Lobo

MD | Research Fellow (2020-2021)
MD | Research Fellow (2020-2021)

Teshia Bustos

MD | Research Fellow (2020-2021)
MD | Research Fellow (2020-2021) Universidad Nacional de San Antonio Abad del Cusco, Medicine, Department Member

Allan Mackenzie-Graham, Ph.D.

| MS, ALS and Glaucoma Subcommittee 2023-2024
Assistant Professor-in-Residence – Neurology

Neeta Garg

| MS, ALS and Glaucoma Subcommittee 2023-2024
Dr. Neeta Garg is a neurologist in Valencia, California and is affiliated with multiple hospitals in the area, including Jackson Health System-Miami and University of Miami Hospital and Clinics-UHealth Tower. She received her medical degree from Sawai Man Singh Medical College and has been in practice for more than 20 years.

P. Sarat Chandra

SBMT India president | Neuroscience20 India Co-Chair
Dr (Prof) P Sarat Chandra is a world-renowned neurosurgeon and currently works as a senior Professor in the Department Neurosurgery at the Prestigious All India Insititute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi. He is best known for his path breaking work in the field of epilepsy surgery, craniovertebral junction anomalies, complex spine and minimally invasive neurosurgery.

John S. Yu

Nanoneurosurgery & NeuroPhotonics Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
Dr. John S. Yu is a member of the full-time faculty in the Department of Neurosurgery at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center as well as the founder of ImmunoCellular Therapeutics. An internationally renowned neurosurgeon, Dr. Yu’s clinical focus is on the treatment of malignant and benign brain and spinal tumors. In addition, he is conducting in-depth research in immune and gene therapy for brain tumors. He has also extensively studied the use of neural stem cells as delivery vehicles for brain cancers and neurodegenerative diseases.

John D. Heiss

Nanoneurosurgery & NeuroPhotonics Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
John D. Heiss, M.D. is the Head of the Surgical Neurology Branch and Program Director of the Neurological Surgery Residency Training Program in the NINDS. Dr. Heiss received both his B.S. in Biomedical Sciences and M.D. degree from the University of Michigan. He completed his surgical internship and his residency in neurosurgery at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. Prior to joining NINDS, Dr. Heiss was co-director of the Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit at the University of Cincinnati and a neurosurgeon in the Mayfield Neurological Institute. He completed a fellowship in neurosurgery research in the Surgical Neurology Branch before joining the senior staff of the Surgical Neurology Branch.

J. Manuel Perez

NeuroOncology Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024

Maheen Adamson

Military Medicine and Veteran's Health Subcommittee SBMT 2023-2024
Dr. Maheen Mausoof Adamson is a clinical associate professor of Neurosurgery (Affiliated) at Stanford School of Medicine, Director of Research for Women’s Operational Military Exposure Network (WOMEN) at War Related Illness & Injury Study Center (WRIISC), and senior Scientist for Rehabilitation Services at VA Palo Alto Healthcare System. Adamson completed her undergraduate degrees in neurobiology and women’s studies at the University of California, Irvine. She completed her Ph.D. in neuroscience from the University of Southern California and a postdoctoral fellowship in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Stanford School of Medicine.