LOS ANGELES, Jan. 2, 2019 /PRNewswire/ — The 16th Annual “Gathering for the Cure” Gala will be held on March 16th, 2019 in Los Angeles.  Also over 800 leading scientists and 12 keynotes speakers will be lecturing at the 16th Annual World Brain Mapping Convention at the LA Convention center.

BMF has been on the forefront of wounded warrior care and treatments for civilians with neurological disorders by bringing scientists, physicians and engineers across multiple disciplines in its annual conventions and by forming lifesaving multidisciplinary clinical trials.  Annually the organization awards pioneers and leaders in the field as well as humanitarians and philanthropists.

Dr. Deepak Chopra, who will be the recipient of the 2019 Humanitarian award for his global humanitarian and philanthropic work, said, “I’m truly honored to be receiving this award, we are living in the golden age of neuroscience. There is no experience that cannot be mapped in the brain.  As we better understand the neural correlations of mind consciousness, behavioral genetics and epigenetics; we shall not only be preventing and treating disease with targeted revision, but also unfolding the full range of human potential.”

2019 recipients of the Golden Axon leadership award are Drs. Jeff WangHarry KloorNevzat Tarhan, Actor, Director and Producer Sean Stone and Producer Billie Feldman for their role in raising awareness about the foundation and its mission through strategic programs, global collaboration and partnerships.

“‘It’s a tremendous honor to be considered for this award as I am in awe of the work Dr. Kateb and other neuroscientists are doing through the urgently needed Brain Mapping Foundation. Their work will help determine the outcome of humanity in the coming century,” said Sean Stone.

Dr. Katrin Amunts will be the recipient of the Pioneer in Medicine award for her role as scientific director of the European Human Brain Project and for developing a 3D atlas of the human brain.  California Senator Kamala Harris is the recipient of the Pioneer in Healthcare Policy award for her legislations in support for healthcare and medical research.  The Beacon of Courage and Dedication award, which is aimed at patients and their families who have shown great courage in fighting neurological disorders will be presented to renowned producer and director Bobak Kalhor and Ms. Saayeh Sarmast (a ALS research advocate).

Finally, the Pioneer in Technology Development Award will be presented to The French Muscular Dystrophy (AFM) Telethon for their tireless effort in introducing lifesaving drugs, which have saved thousands of lives of patients with muscular dystrophy.

For more information about donating to the organization and or purchasing the ticket for the 16th Annual Gathering for the Cure gala please visit the organization’s official website: www.WorldBrainMapping.Org or Contact Ms. Breanna Marquez.

Media Contact:
Breanna Marquez,
Director of Media Marketing
Society for Brain Mapping and Therapeutics (SBMT)
Cell: 310-270-7458

SOURCE Brain Mapping Foundation

Related Links


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *