World Brain Mapping Foundation

World Brain Mapping Foundation

On the forefront on Brain Mapping and Therapeutics

This Year's Nominees

The World Brain Mapping Foundation (WBMF) is pleased to announce the winners of this year's awards. These awards recognize outstanding achievements in brain mapping research, education, and service.

This Year's Nominees

The Beacon Award is presented to individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary courage and dedication for increasing awareness about neurological diseases, and for patients and their families who have exceeded expectations in fighting a neurological disorder with unprecedented courage. The Beacon Award identifies remarkable individuals who set the highest standards for increasing awareness of, and fighting, neurological diseases.

The Humanitarian Award is given to physicians and scientists who have contributed significantly to survival and quality of life of patients across the Globe.

The Pioneer in Technology Award is presented to the trail blazing companies and their CEOs/presidents who have facilitated the development of pioneering technologies through interdisciplinary approaches that have impacted diagnostics, treatment, and healthcare delivery in unprecedented ways.

The Pioneer in Medicine Award is presented to individuals who have significantly contributed to the scientific advancement in the fields of medicine and image guided therapy through a multidisciplinary approach. Their groundbreaking contributions have made development of state-of-the-art technology and scientific discovery a reality.

The Pioneer in Healthcare Policy Award is presented to lawmakers who have demonstrated visionary and crossdisciplinary approaches to introducing laws that have contributed to the advancement of science, technology, education, and medicine. They have paved the way to better integration of such advancements in other fields, like medicine and neuroscience. These lawmakers champion better healthcare for all.

The Golden Axon Leadership Award is presented to individuals outside of the medical community who inspire with good will and an enthusiastic interest in science, technology and medicine. Named for the neuron cell fiber that carries outgoing messages to other target cells, the founding principle of the Axon Award is to recognize a highly regarded individual in the public sector who helps raise awareness and funding of WBMF and its mission in the community via fundraising event(s) and activities.

The WBMF Young Investigator’s Initiative is designed to recognize promising young scientists performing work in the brain sciences relevant to the World Brain Mapping Foundation. While this year’s awardees will not be receiving any financial incentives, this recognition will be a stepping stone for future recognition within and beyond the WBMF’s wide ranging collaborative partners.

The WBMF Student Service and Leadership Award is given to recognize excellence and commitment to dedicated fellows, interns, and students who have contributed to the advancement of medicine, specifically the neurosciences.

Late Robin Sidhu (1988 – 2015), a young ebullient science driven and information technology (IT) savvy person, died of an accident at an early age. His mission to accomplish in-depth understanding of human mind and health remained incomplete due to his early departure but his legacy will remain through supporting young innovative minds in science through this award.

Beacon of Courage and Dedication Award

No results found.

Humanitarian Award

No results found.

Pioneer in Technology Award

No results found.

Pioneer in Medicine Award

No results found.

Pioneer in Healthcare Policy Award

No results found.

Golden Axon leadership Award

P. Sarat Chandra

SBMT India president | Neuroscience20 India Co-Chair
Dr (Prof) P Sarat Chandra is a world-renowned neurosurgeon and currently works as a senior Professor in the Department Neurosurgery at the Prestigious All India Insititute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi. He is best known for his path breaking work in the field of epilepsy surgery, craniovertebral junction anomalies, complex spine and minimally invasive neurosurgery.

Joe F. Bolanos

M.D.| Research Fellow, 2021 Award Recipient | Neuroscience20 Organizing Secretary
Dr. Bolanos is a Research Scientists and NeuroScientist for the Society for Brain Mapping and Therapeutics, and the Brain Mapping Foundation.

Young Investigator Award

No results found.

Student Service and Leadership Award

Aysha Noor

MD | Research Fellow (2021-2023)

Robin Sidhu Memorial Young Scientist Award

No results found.