10th Annual Congress

Join us for a highly topical and comprehensive 3-day CME-accredited scientific program featuring an outstanding speaker line-up – including top-level representatives from medicine, defence, academia and R&D.

About the Congress

The 10th Annual Congress from May 12-14, 2013 at the Baltimore Convention Center in Baltimore, Maryland was supported by the US Government as well as many prominent US universities and institutions. The program represented state-of-the-art science and technology in the field of neuroscience, engineering, neurosurgery, psychiatry, psychology, molecular biology, neurology, radiology and oncology.

This outstanding event brought together physicians, scientists, policy makers, funding agencies and industry to further the advances and applications in brain and spinal cord mapping and image guided therapies (operative and non-operative). The theme of the meeting was “Nano-Bio-Electronics: translation, integration and commercialization.”

10th Annual World Congress of Society for Brain Mapping & Therapeutics (SBMT)

10th Annual Gala Awards Event

2013 Award Recipients

Pioneer in Medicine Award
Wieslaw L. Nowinski Rafat Ansari Shouleh Nikzad Margie L. Homer Robert H. Kraus, Jr.
Wieslaw L. Nowinski
Principal Scientist, Lab Director, Biomedical Imaging Lab
Agency for Science, Technology and Research, Singapore
Rafat Ansari
Human Research Program
Shouleh Nikzad
Senior Research Scientist, NASA/JPL
Margie L. Homer
Senior Engineer at NASA/JPL
Robert H. Kraus, Jr.
Chief Scientist, Director of Operations, Samitaur Medical Technologies
Pioneer in Medicine Award Pioneer in Technology Development Award Humanitarian Award
Maya Koronyo-Hamamoui Yosef Koronyo Eric M. Bailey Reese S. Terry Jr. Ming Hsieh
Maya Koronyo-Hamaoui
Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Yosef Koronyo
Research associate, Surgery and Neurosurgery, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Eric M. Bailey
President, CEO, Founder, Neurologica
Reese S. Terry Jr.
Co-founder and former CEO of Cyberonics
Ming Hsieh
Founder of Cogent Inc.
Pioneer in Healthcare Policy Award Nominees  
Barack H. Obama Cathy McMorris Rodgers Earl Blumenauer James Moran
Barack H. Obama
44th President of the United States
Cathy McMorris Rodgers
U.S. Representative
for Washington's 5th Congressional District
Earl Blumenauer
U.S. Representative
for Oregon's 3rd Congressional District
James Moran
U.S. Representative
for Virginia's 8th Congressional District

10th Annual Congress Event

2013 Keynote Speakers

Earl Blumenauer Babak Kateb Howard J. Federoff
Earl Blumenauer
U.S. Representative for Oregon's 3rd Congressional District
Babak Kateb
Chairman/CEO SBMT & President of Brain Mapping Foundation
Howard J. Federoff
Executive Vice President for Health Sciences,
Executive Dean of the School of Medicine,
Georgetown University
  Gala Keynote
CAPT Paul S. Hammer VADM Matthew L. Nathan Beth Nielsen Chapman
CAPT Paul S. Hammer
Director, Defense Centers of Excellence for Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury (DCoE)
VADM Matthew L. Nathan
Surgeon General, US Navy;
Chief, US Navy Bureau of
Medicine and Surgery
Beth Nielsen Chapman
Brain Tumor Survivor